Cosplayer, Filmmaker, Writer

Costumes and Cosplay – How To Be A Better Supervillain, Part 2

Now, when I wrote part one of this blog, I promised you that part two would be ‘along very soon’.
That was, in fact, back in May – five months ago. Well, in that time I’ve been doing many things – I moved to a Tiny House and began work on it, I have embarked on many Cycle Adventures and I have started reviewing independent cafes – and writing blogs related to all of these things!

prime_photo_with_credits_03

Until recently I didn’t have much time or space (or, to be fair, inclination) to finish the video I started making, but finally I got my butt in gear and did it.

This was partly prompted by the fact that How To Be A Better Supervillain (With Vincent Saxby), for which the costume was made, was due for a second revised performance – in the end it had to be cancelled due to unfortunate circumstances, but many of us agreed that more time to practice and polish was not a bad thing. And for those who wanted to come along, don’t worry – we will be getting ready for another run asap!

prime_photo_with_credits_04

Those of you who have not heard of the show before, it is a live event in which Vincent Saxby, coach to Super-villains, along with the famous hero-turned-villain Agent Pain and branding expert Xander T. Phoenix (aka  ‘The Pyrotechnic) will teach you, yes YOU, how to be the very best Super-villain you can be. Here are links to find out more:

YouTube

Facebook

Twitter

Anyway, enough of that. Here’s what y’all came to see…the VIDEO!

 

NB: It is on Vimeo this time because on YouTube they muted the soundtrack (a piece of copyrighted music), fair play to them as the track ‘Angel Integer’ by Squarepusher, appears on the shiny-helmeted artist’s own channel here.

My friend, the very talented Roni, joins me here in character as Agent Pain for the fight sequence. I have to point out that in real life, she would never lose to Prime – she’s far too clever. I had originally wanted to do this with every other performer in the show but sadly time and other commitments prevented. 

And here are some more of the costume in all it’s cardboard glory:

These photos were taken by my good friend Neil (who aside from being handy with a camera originated the show and plays the eponymous Vincent Saxby,Coach to Supervillians) – hope you enjoy them!

Right, that’s all for now – thanks for your patience. Byeeeeeeee!

– Spekti

Leave a comment